## CROOK COUNTY COURT MINUTES OF JULY 13, 2023, SPECIAL PUBLIC MEETING Open Portion

**Be It Remembered** that the Crook County Court met in a Special Public Meeting on July 13, 2023, at 5:30 p.m. in the Administration Conference room located at 203 NE Court Street, Prineville, Oregon 97754.

<u>Court Members Present</u>: Judge Seth Crawford, Commissioner Jerry Brummer and Commissioner Brian Barney

Absentees: None

Others Present in Person or Via Zoom: County Counsel Eric Blaine, Sandy Kerbow, Paul Cuttey, Sean Briscoe, Chris John, Cindy York, Sarah Beeler, Natalie Good, Teresa Ervin, Jack Ravenberg, Priscilla Smith, Roxanne Cummings-Basey, Andy Parks, Mary Dyal, Mark Maboll, Riley Campbell, Diana Scheffler, Keya Rohovit-Wrolson, Jodi Fluck; Debra Merksin, and members of the public.

The purpose of this meeting is to review and discuss the purpose and role of the Library Board of Trustees and determine if any changes are appropriate and to receive Board recommendations for vacant Board seats.

Andy Parks provided a brief overview of the Crook County Code, Oregon Revised Statutes, and the Crook County Board and Commission policy (member appointment process).

Mr. Parks discussed the purpose and role of the Library Board of Trustees specifically providing recommendations for hiring library director, making recommendations regarding personnel related matters, adopting rules and policies for the governance of the library, approving budget prepared by the Library Director, approving library for expenditures (consistent with County policy), and handling of donations, gifts, and grants at a value greater than \$1,000.00.

The next topic of discussion was board member appointments for the Library Board of Trustees. The Library Board reviewed the applications that were received and previously provided recommendations to the Court. The County Court decided to interview all candidates to conduct a more thorough process since multiple applications were received. County Court interviewed the following candidates who applied to serve on the Library Board of Trustees: Jennifer Mires Orozco, Mark Loring Maboll, Sandy Kerbow, Keya Rohovit-Wrolson; Mary Dyal; Roxanne Cummings-Basey, Brian Samp, Gayle Casselman and James Van Voorhees.

County Court will bring this discussion item to the July 19<sup>th</sup> Regular Session for final board appointments.

Respectfully submitted,

## Sarah Puerner